Login |  Home |  Site Map

CCORT is funded by a Canadian Institutes of Health Research Team Grant in Cardiovascular Outcomes Research

CANHEART is funded by a CIHR Team Grant in Chronic Disease Risk & Intervention Strategies

 The CCORT Student Research Fellowship and
Summer Studentship Program

                                              NB This training program is no longer active.

The CCORT Student Training program, funded by the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR), provided students with a unique opportunity to train with some of Canada’s leading cardiovascular outcomes researchers.  Typical students included those at the post-doctoral, PhD, and MSc level involved in research in Clinical Epidemiology or Health Services Research, or students with a MD enrolled in clinical training programs in relevant specialties.

ABOUT THE TEAM
 

In 2001, a group of more than 30 investigators from five Canadian provinces (Nova Scotia, Quebec, Ontario, Alberta, British Columbia), came together to form an Interdisciplinary Health Research Team (IHRT) known as the Canadian Cardiovascular Outcomes Research Team (CCORT).  The team was funded by the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR), and the Heart and Stroke Foundation from 2001 to 2005.  The objective of CCORT’s research was to measure and improve the quality of cardiac care in Canada. 

In 2006, CCORT received new funding from CIHR under its 5-year Team grant program.  The original team, with the addition of some new investigators, worked together to measure and improve access to quality cardiac care in Canada.  CCORT’s mandate includes an important student training component, which aims to train the next generation of cardiac outcomes researchers through integrated research initiatives.  A list of CCORT projects is available at the following link: Projects 

Past training sites and associated CCORT investigators

Halifax:

Jafna Cox (jafna.cox@dal.ca)
Greg Hirsch (greg.hirsch@dal.ca) 

Montreal:

Louise Pilote (Louise.Pilote@mcgill.ca)
Mark Eisenberg (mark.eisenberg@mcgill.ca)

Toronto:

David Alter (david.alter@ices.on.ca) (Summer students)
Peter Austin (peter.austin@ices.on.ca)
Dennis Ko (dennis.ko@ices.on.ca   (Summer Students)
Thérese Stukel (therese.stukel@ices.on.ca) (Graduate students only)
Jack Tu (tu@ices.on.ca) (Graduate and post doctoral fellows only. Preference given to those with clinical background in cardiology or related field.) 

Calgary:

William Ghali (wghali@ucalgary.ca) 

Edmonton:

Colleen Norris (colleen.norris@ualberta.ca) 

Vancouver: Karin Humphries (KHumphries2@phsa.ca)

STUDENT TRAINING APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS AND APPLICATION FORMS

1. CCORT student Research Fellowship Program and Application Requirements
  Application Form PDF Word
2. CCORT Summer Studentship Program and Application requirements

Funding for the Student Training Program was made available through the CIHR.